Emotions

 “It’s just emotions taking me over….” 

One of the songs that were big in my teens. 

As we have seen this week through with goodbyes, tears, laughs, excitement and almost every emotion possible, I know that being ruled by emotion would get you nowhere fast. 

It’s been 5 and a half years since we made our move to Japan. We’ve surfed more than ever, enjoyed real hot summers with BBQs, made incredible friends, fell in love with each other all over again, discovered our gifts and flourished in Gods house. 

The broken couple that came here are now leaving as a family of three with a passion and love for Jesus and His church. So why would we leave? Why wouldn’t we just stay? When God called us to the next season it just had to be followed. We had to be ruled by Gods plan and his peace rather than emotion. 

Seriously, if I let my emotions rule me this week, I would have changed my mind and stayed and back to moving again hundreds of times, I probably would have told my bosses that I decided to stay and keep teaching! 

Our emotions have no steady bounds, it’s like the scripture being tossed and turned like the waves, the sea is beautiful and calm, the next it is full of danger and unpredictable tides and currents. 

I know that it’s easy to not “feel” like doing something or “feel” like saying something but God doesn’t want us to live this way, tired and unstable. 

So what do we do? 

We place our feet and soul firmly on His word. Follow his peace, presence and look for His way in every situation, isn’t it amazing that the Holy Spirit never ever leaves us and he comforts us and cheers us on.

When we feel overcome just talk to him “I need your help, show me your ways” and he will every time.

Let’s see the fruit of faithfulness in Gods ways and continue to build our foundation on his word so we can be steady and firm and ready to face new season, challenges and flourish in this great life He has blessed us with! 

Leave a Reply

