Choosing God over the good.

A few years ago my husband was working Tuesday to Saturdays and I was working Monday to Friday. I started thinking about working 4 days instead. The same week Daniel said to me “Hey I was thinking, do you wanna start working 4 days instead of 5?”. I was so surprised he was on the same page as me and I had not mentioned it at all!
I had a couple of options. Our church was just about to launch Tuesday night services and I could take Tuesdays off to help with that or take Mondays off and spend them with Daniel.
I prayed about it and what I really wanted was to have mondays off with Daniel but I didn’t feel right in my gutt. It was weird, I asked God “what do you want me to do please tell me.” I opened my bible and this scripture hit me in the face haha not literally.

“Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.”‭‭James‬ ‭4:17‬ ‭NLT‬‬

I knew deep down I should take Tuesdays off, I didn’t understand why really, I thought God would want me to have a day off with my husband but I didn’t want to choose a good thing over what God was saying was his thing.
I went to work and decided I would tell my supervisor I would need to take Tuesdays off because I needed to help with our new church service. When I told her, her response was this “okay, what time do you need to leave to get to set up? Why don’t you come earlier to work, finish earlier and we will give you a pay raise”.

What! The increase in my wage and earlier hours meant I could still have Mondays off spend time with Daniel and help with the launch of the new service on Tuesdays! 
God gave me the best, his way, doing his will and building his kingdom and spending a day with my husband. I could understand his bigger plan after all! 
If I chose what I thought was the “good option” over “Gods option” I would have totally missed out on what he had for me. 
God doesn’t ask us to choose his way over the seemingly good way so that we miss out, it is because he sees the bigger picture that we often miss. 
This was a huge lesson for me, not blatantly doing something wrong but not doing what we know to do is sinning, that’s missing the mark but it’s so amazing how we can come to him always everyday and say “I might have missed it a bit today, help me hear from you again tomorrow!” 
If we live everyday having in mind that “God I wanna choose your ways over the “good ways” because your ways are best” it’s really saying “God you are God and you always know best!”.
“For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”

‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭55:9‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Leave a Reply

