What are you expecting?

God has something for you today to receive and You have something to give today for someone to receive.
This year I tried doing something, I would buy a bunch of flowers pray and ask God what to write on a small card and then after work give the Flowers to someone I thought would be encouraged by them. When I would leave work and walk to the train station I had one mission, to give these flowers to someone. The funny thing is that I noticed I would look at everyone waiting for someone to make eye contact but pretty much everyone was on their phones, usually I would be too or I would be rushing from work to make the next train. Now I would walk smiling at anyone that would make eye contact and I was soooo ready to give. When I “found” the right person the reaction was always different, some people laughed and said thank you, some hugged me, some people looked like they were going to cry and some said “no thank you”. I don’t know what happened in their day or what was happening in their life but I do know that I just gave them a bunch of flowers and that could have brightened someone’s day or even stopped someone from feeling helpless and alone.

It actually took courage and sometimes I even thought about just taking the flowers home because I was scared of them saying no or looking silly, but my desire to help someone and bless someone always overcame my feeling of fear.

I got more out of these moments than I thought I would which is so amazing.

I don’t want to rush through life from one part to the next, I want to look at each moment even “between things” as chances to hear from God or bless someone.

Smile at people.

Be ready to overcome insecurities and fears for someone else’s benefit.

Be ready to bless and uplift and also be ready to be blessed and uplifted. 

It doesn’t have to be a bunch of flowers, it could be a kind word or a cup of coffee, even a smile.

I don’t think people walk through life expecting something great to happen and we often plan for our best days and moments but are always prepared for the worst to happen. 
But God wants us to be expectant that even today could be of one the best days! 
And be willing and ready to except it, unlike those unwilling to receive flowers from me.

I love this story in acts: “Peter looked straight at him, as did John. Then Peter said, “Look at us!” So the man gave them his attention, expecting to get something from them. Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” Taking him by the right hand, he helped him up, and instantly the man’s feet and ankles became strong. He jumped to his feet and began to walk. Then he went with them into the temple courts, walking and jumping, and praising God. When all the people saw him walking and praising God, they recognized him as the same man who used to sit begging at the temple gate called Beautiful, and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him.” Acts‬ ‭3:4-10‬ ‭NIV‬‬

The man begging was ready and expectant for something, and I am sure Peter and John were walking around waiting to give.
The lame man got more than he could have ever wanted or imagined that day. He walked.

I believe God has something for you today! It could be healing, peace, power, love, money, healing, acceptance, friendship and I believe you have something great to give too!
Let’s not rush from one schedule to the other but be in every moment and ready to be used today! 

Leave a Reply

