Who am I?

People find their identity in many things: nationality , History, Social status, What people have said about them, Facebook , Instagram followers, An accomplishment, a failure, Education, Job, Money, Things, Hobbies, Mother or Father, Talents and Gifts, Beauty, Children.

We are not these things, these may be things that we have done or have in this current time but we are not these things or situations.
We should be forever changing….
Let’s take some examples for us from the bible! 

 Who was David? Son, brother, shephard, singer song writer, warrior, king, adulterer, muderer, humble, friend.

Who was Peter? Fisherman, disciple, trustworthy, passionate, betrayer, friend, preacher, martyr.
We can see here that even people who we read about in the bible and look to for examples of people that God used continued to change, they had ups and downs. Sometimes they were good sometimes they were bad.
Sometimes they were confident sometimes they were scared, unsure.

Its easy to ask the question who am I? 

But we can be full of joy because we know God creates in us something that grows inside us and we continue to change. 

Phil1:6 “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

We cannot judge ourselves or anyone else based on their lowest point or their highest point because everyone has the potential to make a great decision or a bad one. 
Don’t feel ashamed or believe in something someone said negative about you.
Don’t think that bad decision or lowest point IS you.
Don’t think that that place where you felt great or had a victory is the high point Of your life and that’s that. 

God knew when we were born, when no one else did, HE knew what we are.

So expect more from life and believe God will continue to work in you and walk with you.

Discover him….so you can discover you.

Gods word= our identity.

What does his word say? Gods word brings light to our life showing us who we are and HOW to live!
For me I felt almost misplaced sometimes, Half Japanese- land of nowhere, where do I belong? An Only child, Fatherless, No family around me, A Victim, a horrible person. Married, a Mother, A Daughter, Sushi shop owner, a surfer, a Teacher, a friend.

When we moved to Japan everything was gone, my friends, my reputation, hobbies, what people knew about me, company…

I Just had my marriage and that could have been Easily gone.
But the Closer to God I got the more confident I got in life. There is more adventure in him. We sometimes make mistakes, I have fallen down, but I get up and shine, and I am full of hope and life because he doesn’t change and his view on us does not change.
Psalm119: 105 “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”

We can find our true identity in Christ as Gods child.
You are Highly favored.

You are Fearfully and wonderfully made.

You are a Friend of God….famous in his eyes.

You are Loved.

You are Precious – bought with a price.

You are the Body of Christ – we all are a part of it. You are needed and function as his hands and feet.

You are Given what Jesus has! 

When we can be sure of who we are, it brings a confidence more than what you could have if it was based on something or someone or an action. 

One with Christ- we are not striving to be more of something.
We are not scared of what others think.

We are not held back by thoughts of failure or regret. We Become more confident to be all we are created to be!

I can’t do anything more to be more Gods child, But I want be the best I can be for God because I love him! 

If we base our value and identity on Things that cannot be taken away, we can rise higher and be more than we thought or dream of and God sees it all! 

Discover and be more confident daily, knowing who you really are! 

Leave a Reply

