The green monster 

Okay, so here’s a little story about my little battle with the green monster called envy.

I’m not sure if everyone has had this challenge but The opportunity for it could happen to everyone.

Back to my story….

Since I was a kid there were two things I wanted. 1. Was to be a super famous actress

The other 2. A preacher

I pursued acting. I joined acting groups, joined agencies, In my head I had dreams of stardom and fame for myself. To entertain and be on stage with the spotlight on ME! My definition of success was fame.

One day my friend who was an editor told me about a short film she was editing and this guy who was acting the main role. She showed me a short part of his acting and I knew him!

I went to high school this guy who had no interest in acting, in fact he was pretty much a sports guy. He pursued his sports career and was doing really well! He ended up coming back to NZ and He just happened to find a new career and passion in acting. I saw him and asked him about it he said “I thought I’d give it a go”

I was angry, it’s not fair! He just tried “gave it a go” and was doing well?

It’s my dream, not his.

Every time his name was mentioned I turned into the green monster, it was ugly.

It felt like my toes would catch on fire and my eyes would burn lasers through the walls.

A magazine or newspaper or fb status, did I avoid them? No….I fed the monster. It was the weirdest thing.

So how did I over come my battle with envy?
A couple of years later I found myself in Japan and was in church. I felt God say “pursue me”. And I did.

The closer and More real My relationship with Jesus got the more satisfied with life I was.

I could be genuinely happy for others more and more……..even actor boy.

“but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”‭‭John‬ ‭4:14‬ ‭

Jesus said this to a woman who was not finding satisfaction In what she thought was the answer for her loneliness.
If you’re turning into the green monster about anything, work, others happy relationships (I struggled with that too), people’s material possessions, money, friendships, Instagram likes, fb friends, social life.

God can and will give you real joy and satisfaction that never goes away.

And life is so much better when you’re not hulking into a monster every second day 😉

Leave a Reply

